Homework help databases

Search information services subscribed to by the Alabama Virtual Library, Alabama Public Library Service, and the Jefferson County Library Cooperative below.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Britannica Online Academic Edition
Britannica Online Public Library Edition
Enciclopedia Universal en Español
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Merriam-Webster Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Languages & Literature

BBC languages
Book Collection: Nonfiction
Author & Writers: Literature Resource Center
LitFinder
LiveMocha : Language Learning

Social Sciences & Tests

Annals of American History Online
Career Library
Civil Rights Digital Library
ERIC
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ferguson Career Guidance Center
History Reference Center
LearningExpressLibrary
LegalTrac
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Military & Government Collection
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Points of View Reference Center™
Professional Collection
Professional Development Collection
Sanborn Maps, 1867- 1970: Alabama
SIRS Government Reporter
Tuition Funding Sources
Vocational and career collection
World Data Analyst

Business

Business and Company Resource Center
Business Index ASAP
Business Source Premier
Reference USA
Regional Business News
Small Business Reference Center
 

Magazines & Newspapers

Academic OneFile
Academic Search Premier
EBSCOhost
Expanded Academic ASAP
FirstSearch
Gale Virtual Reference Library
General OneFile
General Reference Center Gold
¡Informe! (Revistas en Español)
MasterFILE Premier
Birmingham News Library
Newspaper Source
Power Search (Thomson Gale)
Serials Solutions
Student Edition
Student Research Center
Worldcat.org

Health & Sciences

Alt HealthWatch
Auto Repair Reference Center
GreenFILE
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
MedlinePlus
PubMed

Local History

Alabama Coal Mine Fatalities, 1898 - 1938
Alabama Episcopal Church Registers
Alabama Inventors Database
Alabama Mosaic
Birmingham Black Barons
Digital Collections
Encyclopedia of Alabama
Jefferson. County. Probate Court,
     Loose Records (1852-1936)

Oak Hill Memorial Cemetery Interments
Obituary Index
Red Mt. Cemetery Records 1888-1906
WPA Index to Alabama Biography

Biography and Genealogy

Biography Reference Bank
HeritageQuest™ Online

Teen News & Events
June 11th @ 5:30PM TEENS: Inflatable Twister
See who is most limber by playing Twister on an enormous, inflated game board! Pizza and door prizes available. June 11th 2013 @ 5:30PM For Teens grade 7 - 12
Read More

May 22nd: Studio 1221/Teen Art
Wednesday May 22nd: Focusing on eco-friendly materials, we'll turn recycled items into cool works of art. The program is on the 4th Wednesday of each month from 4:30-5:30. Grades 7-12. May 22nd @ 4:30pm
Read More

June 4th @ 5:30PM Teen Summer Reading Kick-Off / Murder Mystery Masquerade
We’re kicking off the summer with a Murder Mystery Masquerade ball! Become a character, and decide who did the crime. Pizza served. Door prizes available. June 4th 2013 @ 5:30
Read More

June 7th @ 4PM TEENS: Open Gaming
Come to the library and enjoy your choice of Wii, card, and board games with fellow teens. Snacks served. Friday, June 7th @ 4PM For Teens Grades 7-12
Read More

May 31st: Open Gaming
Come to the library on May 31st from 4:00-5:30 and enjoy your choice of Wii, card, and board games with fellow teens. Snacks served.
Read More

June 2nd - July 29th: Summer Reading!
Sign up for Teen Summer Reading beginning June 2nd. Enjoy awesome programs, hang out with friends over the summer, and win reading prizes (the grand prize this year is an Amazon Kindle Fire!). Stop by the Teen Department to get more information and pick up a bookmark containing all of our event details!
Read More